The 2nd Annual Education Innovation Africa focuses on facilitating innovative partnerships that build sustainable and impactful education programmes across Sub Saharan Africa.

Alternative education models such as informal private schools, online learning platforms, skills-based programmes and alternative delivery models are contributing to the reach of education across Africa. However, sustainable finance and investment are required to increase the efficacy, reach and impact of these programmes. Under this year’s theme ’Delivering Impact’, the event will unite key education leaders at Ministries, Educators, Programmes and Edtech companies, together with Capital Providers at PE, VC, Impact, Development Banks and Corporate Programmes to find new partnerships and models that will provide sustainable and impactful education programmes across Sub-Saharan Africa. 
avatar for Prof Berhanu Abegaz

Prof Berhanu Abegaz

The African Academy of Sciences, Kenya
Executive Director
Prof Berhanu Abegaz is the Executive Director of the African Academy of Sciences, a position he assumed since 2011.  Previously he was Professor of chemistry of the University of Botswana for 17 years (1994-20110 and Addis Ababa University for 21 years (1973-1994). Abegaz has contributed to the rapid growth and development of the Academy that has been witnessed in recent years.  During this time the Academy has secured recognition by the African Union and NEPAD, the technical executing agency of the Union. The number of Fellows and in particular women fellows has increased significantly.  Abegaz has assisted in articulating the three important functions of the Academy, namely, recognizing excellence; providing think-tank functions, and engaging in programmatic activities.  One of the achievements of the Academy under his leadership has been the development of partnerships with global funders and the establishment of AESA, the alliance for accelerating excellence in science in Africa. Abegaz is widely known for promoting South-South cooperation in research and postgraduate education and is the co-founder of highly successful networks such as the Natural Product Research Network for Eastern and Central Africa (NAPRECA), the Network for Analytical and Bioassay Services in Africa (NABSA), and the pan-African Natural Products Library (p-ANPL). Abegaz has served in many national, regional and global organizations such as the UNESCO Science Board (co-Vice Chair of IBSP), the Committee for Scientific Planning and Research of ICSU, as senior Advisor to IOCD, IFS, etc. He has also received a number of prizes and awards, the IFS-DANIDA award, the Pierre Crabbe Award, the CNR Rao Award, The Chemical Society of Ethiopia merit award. He is a member of several professional organizations and an elected fellow of TWAS, AAS and EAS.